Timaya Australia Tour – the Melbourne Show

Last night, Timaya graced Melbourne with his presence and dazzled his fans with his performance. His show was held at the spacious Melbourne Pavilion in Kensington. The promoters Jeff and Emetee were kind enough to give us two VIP tickets to the show so I took Mr.G along and we got to see Timaya work his magic live on stage.

Char just loving life!
Char just loving life!

The night started off a bit slow but it was nothing that a few trips to the overstaffed bar couldn’t fix. Eventually the ball got rolling with some supporting acts by up and coming artists from Melbourne, Sydney, Nigeria and the USA. The standout performances by supporting artists for me were YoungEzy from Swag Money and Slicker1 who are both based in Melbourne.

Timaya came on stage at around 10:30pm and instantly the atmosphere in the room changed. People who had been standing around looking blank came to life, Timaya literally gave us life! – and may I say West African men and women alike are such passionate dancers!

SONY DSC
Playful pose on stage

Timaya’s performance was flawless; he kept the crowd engaged and amped up all the way through. With the start of every song, the crowd erupted and broke into frenzied dancing – it was amazing to watch him and the effect he had on his fans.

SONY DSC
The atmosphere was electric

I must confess, while everyone was shaking their bum bum I was busy appreciating Timaya’s outfit. I loved his understated style; the white shirt with a Mandarin collar teamed with black capri pants and only two chains. The pièces de résistance were his black Giuseppe Zanotti loafers – now those shoes set my heart aflutter!

Timaya's Giuseppe Zanotti loafers
Timaya rocked these Giuseppe Zanottis!

Highlights of the night: the amazing performance by Timaya and of course his Guiseppe loafers.

Lowlights: the unclear delineation between Platinum VIP, VIP and General Admission ticket zones. Platinum VIP tickets were $1,000 and for that you got a private room above the stage, VIP was $125 and General Admission was $85. There were more people in Platinum VIP than in VIP and GA which I felt took the shine off the platinum. The VIP area was in itself not full because most VIP people had somehow ended up in Platinum VIP – all I can say is, if I had bought the $1,000 Platinum VIP ticket I would’ve been miffed, to say the least.

The venue was too large for the size of the crowd and I noted that out of the 11 bartenders about 8 were standing around with their arms crossed because people were just not buying drinks – it was simply amazing to see so many teetotallers in one place! One other gripe I had was the announcers insisted on YELLING really LOUDLY into the microphones…maybe I’m just getting old *shrug*.

Overall, Mr.G and I had a great night; we thoroughly enjoyed the Timaya experience.

Author: Char

Images: Char

Leave a comment